All Natural Vegan and Organic Sweeteners


Frequently Asked Questions

A few questions and answers many of you have asked ...


What is Vegan?


From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Veganism is a philosophy and lifestyle that avoids using animals and animal products for food, clothing and other purposes. In practice, a vegan (an adherent to veganism) commits to the abstention from consumption or use of all animal products, including meat, fish, poultry, honey, eggs and dairy products, as well as articles made of fur, wool, bone, leather, feathers, pearls, mother of pearl, coral, and other materials of animal origin. Many vegans also avoid products that have been tested on animals. People who avoid eating all animal products, but who otherwise use animal by-products (for example, leather shoes) are commonly referred to as dietary vegans.

What does Organic mean?


Organic Farming – From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Organic farming is a form of agriculture that relies on ecosystem management and attempts to reduce or eliminate the use of external agricultural inputs, especially synthetic fertilizers, pesticides, plant growth regulators, and genetically modified organisms (GMO's) ...

Organic agricultural methods are regulated and enforced by many nations and is defined as " ... a production system that sustains the health of soils and people. It relies on ecological processes, biodiversity and cycles adapted to local conditions, rather than the use of inputs with adverse effects. Organic agriculture combines tradition, innovation and science to benefit the shared environment and promote fair relationships and a good quality of life for all involved ...

The United States Department of Agriculture regulates and monitors organically grown food in the United States. Strict attention to these rules are required to earn the USDA Organic label.

What is Gluten-Free?

A diet that eliminates foods containing gluten, a protein found in foods processed from wheat and related grains like barley, oats and rye. Often prescribed to treat celiac disease.

Are your products Kosher?


Suzanne's Specialties products are Certified Kosher by Kof-K Kosher Certification

What is Macrobiotic?

From WebMD

Originally from Japan, the principle behind the macrobiotic diet combines tenets of Zen Buddhism with a Western-style vegetarian diet. More than a list of recommended foods, it is all about a spiritualism that transcends lifestyle, attitude, and diet practices. The word "macrobiotic" comes from the Greek and essentially means "long life" or "great life.

What is USDA Organic?


USDA Organic is a label regulated by the US Department of Agriculture which guarantees the labeled foods adhere to the organic standards. Organic operations must demonstrate that they are protecting natural resources, conserving biodiversity, and using only approved substances.

What is non-GMO?

In genetic modification (or engineering) of food plants, scientists remove one or more genes from the DNA of another organism, such as a bacterium, virus, or other plant or animal, and "recombine" them into the DNA of the plant they want to alter. By adding these new genes, genetic engineers hope the plant will express the traits associated with the genes, such as resistance to certain diseases or herbicides. Genetically Modified food plants include varieties of com, soybeans, sugar cane, tomatoes, sweet peppers, strawberries, bananas and others.

Genetic modification is not to be confused with plant breeding and hybridizing. Non-GMO foods are those which have not been altered through gene splicing. For more information: Natural Products Association.

Is there really a Suzanne?

Yes, and she is here everyday!

What is the shelf life of your products?

Rice nectars, Honey, Organic Barley Malt Extract, Organic Agave Syrup, Just Like Honey, Organic Molasses = 1 Year; Ricemellow = 9 mos. (30-60 Days when opened)

How do I store the products?

Our products are best stored in a cool, dry place, out of direct sunlight.

Do you handle any nuts or dairy?

No, our plant and processing lines are nut and dairy free.

Difference between Original and Genmai Rice Nectar?

Original is made from partially milled rice. It is lighter in color and has a more neutral taste. Genmai is made from whole rice. It is darker with a more robust, slightly oily taste from the bran left in it. This is a more traditional way of making brown rice syrups and is preferred by those who follow Macrobiotics.

What is your return policy?

Unopened products may be returned within 14 days of purchase for a full refund. If there is a problem with a product, please call 800-762-2135 to discuss how we can best resolve your issue. Your satisfaction is very important to us.

How are orders shipped?

All orders are shipped via UPS Ground within 7-10 business days of your order being placed and payment successfully being received.
This may sound like a long time but we always give ourselves this timeframe for retail and industrial orders. Usually products ship well before 7-10 business days.